Photo Challenge: 50 Steps …

This challenge is a perfect one for me, because I’m actually really in a bit of a down phase in my mood swingometer, and the furthest I want to walk is about 100 yards to the castle to allow the manic dog some freedom. So, anything that involves a maximum of 50 steps is very welcome.

Just when we thought Spring was finally here in jolly old England, Mother Nature threw in a cruel twist of frost this morning. So – I donned my thermals and ventured 47 steps before I took this:

Click on the photo to get a better resolution. For some reason, they always seem to look a bit blurred on the post page itself.

It’s the same type of Nettle I photographed for Dangerous Liaisons last week. … Those stingers aren’t so scary looking now, are they!

If you want to check out the challenge for yourself, just pop over to Print-Sense Photography and Design’s blog.

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: 50 Steps …

  1. Nicely done! This is an excellent first submission for this week’s challenge. ~ Sherene

  2. Thanks! Always nice to hear that I’m first at something! Even if, in this case, it’s only “first off the mark”. 🙂

  3. This is so beautiful. I love macro photography. I’m just starting to learn photography (getting to know my camera and such). One day I really want to get a good macro lens. I’m really drawn to this area. Your photos are stunning.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words.
      I know there are many photographers out there who will hunt me down for this, but I think good pictures are more down to having a “good eye” than to the equipment you use. For years I used an old Fujica camera I bought for $50 in a pawnbrokers. No “auto” anything! Just good old trial and error, and a lot of wasted money on processing.
      I’m still not sold on the digital age , and even though I finally submitted and bought a (still relatively downmarket) digital camera, the macro lens I use with it now was less than £100 (new at the time) on EBay. I think they are still less than £150.
      I don’t like to manipulate my pictures on the computer at all, except perhaps cropping and correcting the colour, unless I just have a crazy moment, and play with the filters out of boredom. The rest is just pure, blind luck.
      Good luck with your new hobby 🙂

      • Thank you so much. Actually, I really loved to read this. Although I definitely have gone digital, I have this thing about all this post processing stuff that is done now a days. I can totally appreciate their work, but my desire is to get to a place where I don’t really feel the need to do that. I like the thought of being able to enjoy the picture just as it is. Thanks so much for your perspective. I am challenged. (Also greatly appreciated your view on the lenses. I think I’ll take your advice on that. ;D)

  4. Lovely photo of frosted nettles. Oooooo, now makes me want to purchase a macro lens. But, back to writing instead.

  5. Have just found this following on from Sherene’s review of the week, and the new challenge for this coming week. I love this shot. I have extension tubes so can do similar things, but need to get in a bit more practice, I think. I love the crystals on the needles.
    http://myphotoyear2012.wordpress.com/

  6. Beautiful macro!!! Such deep rich colors!

    • Thank you 🙂
      It was actually quite tricky to keep it calmed down. The frost tends to glare a lot if the contrast is stepped up even a little bit, so I’m glad I didn’t push it too much.
      I love the stuff you do on your site too.

  7. Amazing shot!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

