Bug-a-day #6 – Hawthorn shieldbug

This has to be the coolest bug I’ve found so far!

Walking through the woods today, something whizzed past me and landed with a very ungainly bump on some ivy at my feet. It took a minute to find it, but what an unusual creature it is. The “armour plating” looks almost plastic, and the spots are indented all over the body.

It took a while, but I found it on the internet, and discovered it is called a Hawthorn Shield Bug.

Apparently, it’s a member of the Stinkbug family – but thankfully, I didn’t have the pleasure of finding out why …

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #6 – Hawthorn shieldbug

  1. Awesome! Glad he’s not a big fella.

  2. Bug a day what a fun idea, I love it!

  3. Great shot! I believe I’ve met this guy before…in the Star Wars Cantina.

  4. Thanks for putting a name on the bug, I’ve been wondering about for four years now! Great pic.

  5. That’s another part of the challenge …. for me to figure out what the heck they are!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

