Bug-a-day #8 – Millipede

I was spoilt for choice today, as I took to lifting up rocks and stones and tree branches off the ground – discovering all sorts off creepy crawlies along the way. So I thought I’d give us a break from things that fly, and present an up close and personal view of what I believe to be a Millipede. If you look really closely, you can see a few of his many, many legs.

He’s not as big as he looks. This pretty little thing was about two inches long and about a tenth of an inch wide.

A bit like a piece of spaghetti … except black … with legs … and moving.

 © Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #8 – Millipede

  1. 🙂 Must be one heck of a good photo to make me like a subject I would normally not like!

  2. I know it doesn’t sting like a centipede but every time I see it, it gives me the creeps. Lovely shot.

    • I didn’t know centipedes sting!
      I’m glad you told me, because there have been centipedes under the same branch, but they scuttled off too quickly before I captured them. I’m be careful round them in future.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

