Bug-a-day #19 – Woodlouse

I’m still trying to work my way back into my routine again after the little “hiccup” over the last two or three days, so nothing spectacular on the bug-a-day menu today.

Although, sometimes, some of those things we consider to be dull and ordinary are the things we should give more attention to, rather than overlooking them and passing them by….

Anyway, a common under-rock dweller found often during my walks is the Woodlouse, Britain’s miniature answer to the armadillo.  No sting, no nasty bite, no aggression, no outstanding beauty, found most of the time in the company of friends and family, and just seems content to get on with his own life without bothering anyone else.  That’s probably why it’s taken me this long to photograph him.

I’m sure there’s some kind of a life message in there somewhere ….

 © Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #19 – Woodlouse

  1. I realize I should respect ALL of nature’s creatures, but this photo gave me an icky shiver! 😉

  2. I seen on a british youtube video that woodlice are kinda tasty, though I haven’t tried them yet.
    I watched the video over a year ago and I seem to recall something about a seafood flavour maybe shrimp, great photo by the way.

    • Oh good grief! We don’t EAT them!

      Do we?

      • I like the little buggers to much and probably don’t have the heart to really give them a try, but for folks who may harbour some resentment towards them, here is your chance. The most distasteful part in this is probably the thought of taking that first bite.

      • I just get the impression that by the time you picked through that shell, there wouldn’t be much left to eat!

  3. I love these! We have them in the states, as well; the nickname I called them as a child was “roly-poly”. I played with them quite a bit! Never heard of anyone eating them, though.

  4. Alice – really enjoyed your bug photos! And, thanks for dropping by my blog.

    ~Anne

  5. This came out very nicely!

  6. Celeste

    I am amazed how you took something that is a) fairly common and b) incredibly squirmish and turned it into an amazing photo. Love the clarity and the use of colour.

  7. Thank you for the kind comment.
    But my photos are pretty natural, so if the colour’s to your liking, that’s credit to Mother Nature, not me 🙂

  8. I can’t say I find the shape of these critters attractive, but the color is lovely. It’s wonderful what new definitions of beauty you’re finding for us with your closeups!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

