Weekly Photo Challenge: Two subjects

The challenge this week is to incorporate two subjects into the same photo ….

So bring on the Dewdrops!!!!

There’s a short story behind this, in that my beloved offspring, messing around with his numpty mates, thought it would be fun to throw rocks at the visitors’ centre of the castle. He broke one of the windows, and to his credit, he did fess up to the crime. However, we are looking at a rather hefty bill to pay for the damage. As £5 a week pocket money will take years to pay the bill off, I’ve thought about taking some more unusual pictures of the castle that may transfer to prints for the visitors’ centre to sell and recoup some of the money that way.

The foggy one I did previously was one I was thinking of, but since my ongoing battle with dewdrops, I thought I’d see what I could come up with in that area. This picture was among about fifty I took a couple of weeks ago.

I want to stress (mainly because I keep being accused by family members who have been looking over my shoulder while I was looking through these) I have not Photoshopped this photo in any way, except to crop, enlarge, and colour correct. I didn’t superimpose the castle on the droplet – it was refracted in the dewdrop. I have added a second close-up of the first photo and inverted it so you can see the castle clearer.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 99 Comments

Post navigation

99 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Two subjects

  1. Absolutely fabulous !!!!!!!!!!

  2. That’s incredible. Great shot.

  3. Really marvelous!

  4. How did you doooo this?! Its sooo awesome!! Love your work 🙂

  5. Such an interesting photo!

  6. Excellent entry. I definitely need a better lens so that I can do something similar … i love water effects.

  7. Water’s starting to grow on me …. even the dreaded dewdrops!

  8. Gorgeous, Alice! Love these, and great for the theme.

  9. MANagING maNIA

    Amazing!

  10. These are beautiful, Alice.

  11. Simply fantastic!

  12. Gotta love it when a dewdrop comes together 🙂

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects | Wind Against Current

  14. This is amazing! You have outdone yourself.

  15. That is amazing! Well done!

  16. Awesome concept.

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects « 3rdculturechildren

  18. Northern Narratives

    Wonderful 🙂

  19. Love it!

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  21. Nice one! especially the reflection of the water drop

  22. Well, I reckon if you’re making post cards like this for the castle they’ll be owing you soon:) … and so perfect for this week’s challenge.

  23. Wow, really … just amazing!

  24. Stunning photo! So delicate 🙂

  25. Clever shot, that is very cool. I also know you must have taken about 40 shots to get this one so good on you for persistence too!! It’s a real cracker!

  26. polly

    beautifully done, very creative of you

  27. Lovely macros

  28. That is so cool!

  29. What an awesome photo! I love all of your pics, but this one is terrific! Great one, Alice

  30. This is just amazing! This is definitely an unusual and beautiful shot of the castle!

  31. stunning. you have an amazing eye for beauty.

  32. Such a fantastic photo, Alice! Great shot and creative interpretation of this challenge! 🙂

  33. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Two subjects – woven decor

  34. That blew me away. Stunning.

  35. Okay, it’s not as “nice” as the others’ posts, but the first thing I thought when I saw this picture was, “freakin’ amazing!”
    😛

  36. Alice, this is just AMAZING!

    I’m starting to want a macro lens – me, the queen of point and shoot!

    • Nowt wrong with pointing and shooting – I still do a bit of that myself. But I must admit to be a little obsessed with the close up stuff recently.
      You should give it a go!

  37. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects | Cardboard Me Travels

  38. Hey Alice,
    This photo is absolutely amazing! It looks like there is a tiny world inside each dew drop. I think it is a wonderful idea to sell cards at the giftshop and honestly, I think this one would be a best seller. I am so taken by the unusualness of the image. It is amazing how something as small as a dewdrop can capture such a large image of the world. There is something metaphorical about it that I just can’t quite put my finger on.
    You are wildly talented. I actually look forward to seeing your posts in the morning. (BTW what country to you live in? I get post emails from you at the weirdest hours! Like right now, it is 547 in the morning and you are keeping me company in my insomniac/maniacal state!) You have made bugs beautiful to me. Thanks for posting!
    I think about you often.
    Best,
    – S.

    • Thank you for such kind words … It’s good to still be posting stuff 🙂
      I never realised the kind of reflections that could be captured in a single droplet either! I think it just illustrates the beauty of the gifts we have around us if only we would stop to look closely.
      Oh, and I live in England. But I’ve been staying up until 2 or 3 in the morning recently.
      That’ll change from now on I think though, because I have new meds which make me sleepy, and the kids are back at school after the easter holidays tomorrow, so I’ll need earlier nights from now on.
      Hope your kaleidoscope is colourful! 🙂

  39. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects | atreegrowsinbklyn

  40. All I can say is WOW!

    Also, I love the fact that you thought of having the giftshop sell your photos to help pay off the debt…very creative thinking!

  41. Work of art this
    🙂

  42. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects « My 2012 Photo Challenge

  43. Really? These are amazing!

  44. that’s just plain awesome! fantastic shot.

  45. Pingback: Vintage: Weekly Photo Challenge (Two Subjects) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

  46. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects [as one composition] « 3rdculturechildren

  47. Pingback: Restricted « The if's and when's

  48. These are perfect shots for the photo challenge. Kudos! 🙂

  49. Thanks very much. Glad you liked them 🙂

  50. Excellent pictures. These are really wonderful. Great work.

  51. trishworth

    I see two subjects in this story: you and nature. You are totally amazing for capturing a castle in a dewdrop and nature is, of course, brilliant for putting it there. So cool.

  52. I covet a camera that will do this – amazing.

    • I don’t think there is anything special about the camera. It is a very low-grade macro lens. All you really need is an eye to see the image, because they are always there, and the ability to focus on the image in the droplet.
      I got lucky with this one, but there are a few more where I did not get such a clear picture.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

