Bug-a-day #22 – Pied shieldbug

I’m relieved to say I went for a walk around the castle with the dog today. It’s the first time I’ve been for a lengthy walk since all that stuff and nonsense that went on earlier this week.

It was nice to be out, despite a brisk wind, but the sun shone from time to time and made the effort worth it, because it brought the bugs out to play.

I did, once again, find another unusually coloured ladybird, but as I have a small bug backlog now, I can wait to present her on a different date.

Strangely enough, I thought for a moment that this little beauty was another bizarre ladybird, as it was the same size and shape as one. But it moved way too quickly, and kept scuttling out of sight into the undergrowth. But patience and dumb luck prevailed, and I managed to capture one reasonable photo.

By chance, while I was looking up something else later this afternoon, I came across it on the internet and, rather than being a wierd ladybird, it would seem to be more akin to my Bug-a-day #6 beastie.

It is, in fact, a Pied Shieldbug.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #22 – Pied shieldbug

  1. Glad you felt up to getting up and about today, Alice! 🙂
    ~Rainey

  2. Thanks Rainey. Trouble is, new meds keep me sleepy until afternoon time! But hopefully it’ll balance out soon.

  3. oh that is very cool and I see why it’s called a shield bug.

  4. polly

    I just love seeing your bug a day photos

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

