Bug-a-day #23 – Skipper butterfly

I cheated today, because I took this picture last year (as you may have guessed from the barley/oats that it’s resting on).

Personally, I love this picture, because there’s a glint in this little guy’s eye that seems to exude character.

As it happened, I had him labelled as a moth for all this time – probably because of the hairy look about him. However, after trawling the web for a good half hour, I finally figured out that he is actually a Large Skipper Butterfly.  He’s supposed to live a bit further south than this, which would probably explain why I’d never seen one before – but I think he’s gorgeous, and I’ll be looking around for a few more members of his clan as the weather warms up.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #23 – Skipper butterfly

  1. This is beautiful. You are able to see the bug in such detail and you could almost think that it has hair on its body like a mammal, but that is just the workings of macro photography for you. Great picture.

  2. Great macro shot! Love the bokeh! 🙂

  3. I think he’s watching you, wondering if you are friend or foe 🙂

  4. Wonderful!

  5. polly

    Great marco I love your bugs I need to get some of mine up.

  6. You should – don’t keep them all to yourself !

  7. Lovely shot Alice.. great colours..

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

