Bug-a-day #25 – Alderfly

It’s extraordinary how little I have really observed of our world, or even just of the local area. In fact, I’m a little annoyed at myself for not having much of a clue about what it is that I’m actually taking pictures of most of the time!  The feeling is all the more exacerbated when I finally manage to research and name the bug, and it’s described as “very common.”

Once again, I present you with a picture of a creature I have never seen before, yet when I looked around the immediate area, there were bloody loads of them!  The reservoir I was at yesterday is a fly fisherman’s favourite spot, and the Alder Fly, as seen here, is apparently favoured as a tasty lure for the fish.

Again, it’s not a pretty face, and I never saw any in flight – but, personally, I think the wing vein pattern is remarkable.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #25 – Alderfly

  1. It always amazes me when I pause and realize how much there is to observe in the world! Just trying to be aware of all the different human jobs there are to keep things going makes my head spin, let alone trying to take in all the other creatures and how their worlds fit together with ours and with one another. Thank goodness I don’t have to be aware of all of it to make it through the day! 😉

  2. That macro lens of yours is giving us a good look at more than just the bugs – it’s fascinating to see the filaments and detritus, minute bits and pieces, and tiny seedlings too. My eyes were never as good as that, so it’s a real treat ..

    • Thanks. I was tempted at first to “stage” some of the pictures, and put some of the (slower moving) bugs on clearer backgrounds – but I’m not going to. I’m also fascinated by the muck they live, and think it’s interesting up close.

  3. Great macro shot!

  4. Thank you for the compliment 🙂

  5. polly

    another beautiful shot

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

