Bug-a-day #26 – Hogweed bonking beetle

This may not be the greatest picture I’ve taken of an insect – but this guy deserves his rightful place in my Bug-a-day challenge purely because he has the BEST name I’ve come across so far.

I have no idea if this will have any impact on anyone outside the UK, but it certainly has connotations to those of us living in England ….

Ladies and gentlemen, I bring you the Hogweed Bonking Beetle !!

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #26 – Hogweed bonking beetle

  1. The name works in American English, too. 🙂 I really like this photo. It’s a pretty cool looking bug. The flowers are interesting and a nice contrast to the beetle.

  2. lethalastronaut

    That is soooo cool 🙂

  3. I guess he’d have to be with a name like that 🙂

  4. Bahahaha – love it!! Aussies appreciate that name too!!

    • Good! i’m glad someone else gets it 🙂
      The interesting part is that it appears to be called that BECAUSE it is always bonking (or “in copula” as the posh people call it).
      Whoever named it obviously had a sense of humour.

      • There is a Bonk Frog in Australia, so named for the distinctive ‘bonk’ sound it makes. Not half as exciting as the beetle! 🙂

  5. MindMindful

    I lived in Wales for 2 years, a long time ago (I was in the U.S. Navy) — I can appreciate the bonking beetle:)

  6. I cannot say I like the subject, but your photo’s are brilliant, so clear and vivid, I tried macro many times but have had mixed results. Fabulous posts ..;)

  7. polly

    great shot I found a couple of bug I will have to post later.

  8. That is a great name: hogweed bonking beetle. Whoever came up with it should have gotten an award for creativity.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

