Bug-a-day #28 – Drain fly

This, believe it or not, has been one of the most frustrating little beasts to photograph so far!

I started trying to take it’s picture about two weeks ago, and since then, I’ve tried again each time I’ve been to the woods – but never managed a decent picture until today.

Firstly, it’s tiny (about 2mm from wing tip to wing tip). Secondly, it never stops moving – either flying off at the merest disturbance, or doing this very strange revolving circular dance, a bit like one of those little wind-up clockwork toys I used to have when I was younger. And thirdly, it has this unusual irridescent “furry” body cover, which screws with the focus at the best of times.

But I think patience has been a virtue in this case, and I finally achieved a reasonably acceptable picture. Click on it to see a clearer version.

I thought it was some kind of mini-moth – but it is apparently a Drain Fly.   A bit of a pest, apparently.

My thoughts entirely …

 © Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #28 – Drain fly

  1. I’ve tried to stalk some of those skittish insects (dragonflies, arrrgh), and I know what you’re talking about! This picture is amazingly clear. Impressive!

  2. Well done there! I wouldn’t have thought that this fluffy guy is such a nuisance.

    • Apparently it can get all in toilet systems and drains and create big problems …
      I guess that’s why they called it a Drain Fly.
      Found this one next to a pond though.

  3. what a strange looking little beastie! your patience did pay off though, it’s a great shot.

  4. polly

    awesome shot

  5. Itr took a while, but got a reasonable pic in the end.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

