Bug-a-day #30 – Alder leaf beetle

I can’t be completely sure, because quite honestly I didn’t spend much time looking very closely at this latest bug, but I think the blue/black shiny little critters dallying in the dandelions are Alder Leaf Beetles.   As you can guess, the photos are probably more about the dandelions than they are about the bugs on this occasion.

I took the two pictures on two completely different days at different places – but got the same kind of effect with each picture.

As is my usual position, I haven’t done anything to the pictures (not even cropping on these occasions) except colour correction. All the blur and abstractness is part of the original picture.  But, quite frankly, even I wouldn’t believe somebody if they told me that! Personally, I think they look like they’ve been Photoshopped to the noo noo.

SO, as I’ve finally figured out how to read the “properties” part of these pictures, I will share with you the camera settings at the time of taking each picture.  Perhaps it will mean more to you than it does me 🙂

Dandelion + Beetle #1

f 2.8; 1/1000 sec;  30mm;  no flash

Dandelion + Beetle #2

f 4.5;  1/400 sec;  30mm;  no flash

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #30 – Alder leaf beetle

  1. Very cool, Alice. I like the surreal look of these with all of that blur.

  2. Hey, where’s the “like” button? I really like these shots. 🙂

  3. cool shots, can barely seen the bug in the first one.

  4. iou’re just getting better and better …maybe in every sense!! 😀

  5. I REALLY like the first one. It has a really great abstract quality to it.

  6. Thanks Jeff.
    Who needs CS6 when you can blur your own pictures 🙂

  7. I was impressed with this “Macrolens takeshot”
    so CS6 helped “blur” the background, really great picture @Alice 😛

  8. No – I don’t HAVE CS6! I was joking with Jeff in the comment before.
    The blur was not made by any Photoshop.
    It was part of the original picture.
    Thanks for the compliment 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

