Bug-a-day #32 – St Mark’s fly

For fear of sounding like a broken record, I had never come across this guy before I photographed him at our local wildlife park the other day.

He wasn’t part of any exhibit, he was quite well disguised on a tree that we passed on the way to see the camels.

I looked him up (and I’m safe to say “him” this time, because apparently the females have a different look about them) and found that he is a St Mark’s Fly – so named, because the adults start to emerge around St Mark’s Day (April 25th).

So that’s two new pieces of trivia I learned in one swoop, because I didn’t even know there was a St Mark’s Day, let alone a St Mark’s Fly.

Not only does this guy have a very cool mating dance  …. but he has hairy eyes!  (see second picture)

I’ve met some people with hair in some strange places in my time, but this has to win the prize for the strangest.

 © Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #32 – St Mark’s fly

  1. Wow! I wouldn’t call him handsome, but I guess he appeals to lady flies.

    What an amazing number of unexpected creatures there are sharing the world with us!!

    • I must admit, I feel very ignorant whenever I show a creature that I’ve “never seen before,” and then for days afterwards I see bloody hundreds of them.
      Makes me wonder if I’ve been walking around with my eyes shut all this time.

  2. How do you get that close,? lovely pictures…;)

  3. I don’t always get so close. If the picture is focussed clearly enough, it’s surprising how much you can zoom in and crop afterwards.
    But then again, sometimes a bug will let you get very close without flying or scuttling off.
    Luck of the draw really.

  4. MindMindful

    The iridescence on his wings is FABulous! If I were a female St Mark’s fly, I’d be all OVER those hairy eyes……….

  5. oh my, he is so ugly, he’s actually beautiful.

  6. Oh Alice, this project of yours is so getting to me. I’m fascinated, enthralled and repelled (sometimes), but always amazed at the beauty of these insects we usually swat away.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

