Bug-a-day #33 – Honeybee

This, I believe, is a Dark Honey Bee. He was extremely docile and not particularly bothered by me taking his picture.

I was most intrigued by the shape of his face from the front – seemingly flat, and heart-shaped. It would be interesting to know why, but it doesn’t seem to be something anyone else has really noticed, except me …

 

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #33 – Honeybee

  1. I ❤ your bee! Yes, his/her face is heartshaped.

  2. Love that first shot… are you using a tripod??

    • Sadly, I don’t possess a tripod, so it’s all hit and miss hand-held!
      Unlike Rick Diffley’s “together” pic.
      I probably need to buy one, but the way I think, it’s just extra stuff to cart around.

      • 2 of the best things I bought after my camera, zoom and macro lenses was a Lowepro Slingshot 202 bag http://www.lowepro.com/slingshot ( take a look at the video… yum yumm !!) and a Lightweight Manfrotto tripod which fits on the side of it.. makes life very easy all round 🙂

  3. I am continually impressed by your photography. I love the close-ups and detail that you capture.

  4. Thank you for the compliments.

  5. I love how you find beauty in the most commonplace things – I mean, how many people would think an insect was a work of art?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

