Bug-a-day #34 – after the rain

It has rained for two straight days here in most parts of England, and there has been little respite from the cold and the wet.

However, this evening – just before the sun went down – the rain let off for a few minutes, allowing most dog owners to give their pets a small window of opportunity to relieve themselves.

While I was out there, I noticed some very interesting raindrop patterns on the plants, so I went back in and retrieved my camera.

I noticed a few Ladybirds and tried to capture them, but the light was too dull for a clear picture without a tripod. And then I remembered my camera has a flash – something I haven’t used since I bought it!  Not the easiest thing to use with a macro in dim light, but it showed some great soggy insects.

So, while I said I wouldn’t portray the same bug more than once for this challenge, I think I can be forgiven for revisiting some very wet versions of Ladybirds and (I think) a Hoverfly.

Click on the images for clearer views.

 

 

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #34 – after the rain

  1. Love it! 🙂

  2. I just LOVE how close and clear your shots are

  3. Oh, Alice – they look like jewels! Love the saturated colors. (I’m sure it’s more fun to admire them here in a dry room than it was to be out in the raw wet weather taking the pictures.)

  4. Love the vivid colours in these – great shots!

  5. The ladybirds photos are magnificent!

  6. Amazing photos!

  7. Beautiful photos, I love the ladybird on the green leaf 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

