Bug-a-day #35 – Midge

I took a walk around the reservoir last week, and these were flying around everywhere. I think they are some type of Midge, possibly of the Chironomus species.

At first I was attracted to the way their wings shimmered with translucence in the sun, but when I started taking close-ups, I noticed these incredible feathery antennae.

It was very difficult to get a decent, sharp picture of the antennae with the wind blowing so hard that day, but I’m quite pleased with the results.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #35 – Midge

  1. such lovely wings.. they look what we used to call mayflies when I lived in Ireland… there used to be thousands of them around the rivers and lakes. My ex-husband was a fly fisherman and he used to tie his own flies. he used to make one that looked very like this. !

  2. Those antennae are incredible – they almost look like long lush eyelashes!

  3. Nice macro shots 🙂

  4. The last one is amazing 🙂

  5. Interesting …. that was the one I wasn’t sure about posting …

  6. Alice, I thought of you when i took my forest walk the other day. I saw this incredible bug that was almost a lime green; I thought “Wow! I wish Alice was here to get a great macro shot of this!” 🙂

  7. Beautiful bug photographs! My Fav is the middle one 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

