Bug-a-day #37 – Slip Wasp

I’ve struggled to figure out what this one is. At first, I thought it was a Sawfly, but I couldn’t find any of those with the red legs and white shoulders.

Ichneuman wasps do have red legs, although I still can’t find a picture of another one with the white shoulders.

Personally, I think it just looks like an old-fashioned LA Rams quarterback … but I’m guessing it’s probably a Black Slip Wasp from the Ichneuman family.

Sound like I know what I’m talking about, don’t I?

I don’t.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #37 – Slip Wasp

  1. You may not have been an expert when you started but you are fast becoming one !!

  2. No expert…
    Just learning how to research them a bit better 🙂

  3. You may not know what you’re talking about but you’re easily fooling me!

  4. You of all people should know that the mere act of opening my mouth is an automatic cue for bullshit. 🙂

  5. Your bug macro’s are awesome! The detail and the colour depth is amazing. I was wondering what lens you use for your macro’s? I am looking to eventually buy a dedicated macro lens and I need some advice. Also do you use a flash?

    • Thank you for the compliment!
      I’m afraid I’m not technically very knowledgeable about camera equipment, and I’m often broke – so I don’t use anything fancy. The camera is a Sony, so I bought a “cheap” Sony 30mm Macro lens off EBay. It’s apparently considered to be the “lower end lens” of the spectrum, but it does me just fine – and I don’t need to freak out if I get it muddy or wet.
      Its official title is SAL30M28, and despite the auto focus being mucked up by mud, it does me just fine 🙂
      No, I don’t use a flash, except for Bug-a-day #34.
      Don’t use a tripod or auto focus either. Just a “one-handed reach” technique that I’ve got quite used to 🙂 – but my camera does have an LED screen that pulls out, so that helps!

  6. I’m more fascinated by that leaf! It is amazing!

    • And, sadly, I don’t know what it is! I looked back at the original picture that shows most of the plant itself, but I don’t recognise it. I might pop back and find one in flower, that may help

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

