Bug-a-day #38 – Garden Snail

Does a snail count as a Bug?

I guess it’s a bit of a reach, but it’s my blog, and I want to include this rather weather-worn creature, who stopped by to say hello while I was lugging a few bricks around the garden the other day.

 

He was very large, so I’m guessing he’s been around a few years, but he’s not the prettiest one I’ve seen. However, if only his shell could talk, I’m sure it would tell a few tales. In fact, it looks like it’s been inscribed with its share of hieroglyphics already.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

 

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #38 – Garden Snail

  1. Awesome shot Alice 😀 I love your bug a day photos as Im now getting to see right up close to some bugs Ive never seen before. Its a very cool project youve got going onnnn! x

  2. The middle shot looks like the snail’s noticed you taking pictures of it 🙂

  3. These are great shots – thanks!

  4. he does look like a dude who has been around the block a time or two, doesn’t he? I like snails. I think they are rather exquisite!

  5. You made good use of your macro lens in recording the different textures on the snail.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  6. These kinda blew my mind! The texture is breathtaking!

  7. This little guy just made my day. Many times I feel like I am that worn.

  8. He certainly looks like he had a heck of a paper round! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

