Wee beastie #40 – Sawfly

It took me a very long time to find a name for this sweet thing. From a distance, it looks like many other residents of my local woods. But on closer viewing, it has the worst skin texture I’ve seen in a long time!  At first, I thought this made it look particularly ugly … but I actually think it’s rather sweet looking.

I believe he or she is a Sawfly – a Dolerus nitens to be exact – but, as usual, I may be wrong and stand to be corrected by any experts out there.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Wee beastie #40 – Sawfly

  1. What a bizarre shape! The thorax is shaped like the top of a peeled tangerine. Wow.

    And “Wee Beastie” is perfect! You can even include other non-bug critters if you come across a good candidate.

  2. This is true, I’m no longer confined to mere creepy crawlies.
    As for this guy – fabulous isn’t he!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

