Wee beastie #51 – Zebra spider

I think this post epitomises the reason I became so fascinated by the world through a macro lens.

This little chap is apparently “very common” according to my little book of Nature – but, as usual, I have never noticed one before today. Neither, as it happened, had anyone I showed the picture to. Not unexpectedly, it is commonly known as a Zebra Spider, and there he was, along with several little mates, wandering around an old Buddleia tree outside the garden.

 

 

 

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Wee beastie #51 – Zebra spider

  1. Sometimes, looking at your pictures, I get the odd feeling that they’re the ones who are normal size and we’re giants too big to even notice! I think that’s one reason I enjoy your photos so much…it’s good to step out of your own point of view from time to time.

    Anyway, another impressive set of pictures of an amazing wee beastie!

    • Thank you. Whoever the “normal” sized participants are, it is definitely humans who are the guilty party when it comes to negligence. If you ever try to take pictures of insects, you can be sure they are very aware of everything around them!

  2. oh my goodness, he’s gorgeous. I have never seen one so this was a treat as I do love spiders.

  3. What a cute little spider! I’m not generally big on spiders, but those almost look friendly.

  4. You are brave! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

