Wee beasties # 53 – Picture-winged fly

As I was hanging out in the same clump of plants next to the pond in which I found the Long-nosed weevils yesterday, my phone rang. During my conversation, this pretty fly landed on a dock leaf nearby. So with one hand holding the phone to my ear, I reached the camera out with my other hand and clicked when it looked like it was in focus.

One click was all I got, because the fly took off straight away.

It’s not the best picture I’ve taken, but it’s the only one I have …. and I wanted to share this Picture-winged fly with you.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Wee beasties # 53 – Picture-winged fly

  1. Beautiful wings.

  2. You did well with one hand… lovely wings and I hope the phone call was a useful one !

  3. Actually, most of my pictures are one-handed. Old habits are hard to break 🙂
    Oh, and the phone call was from the offspring – something beginning with, “Muu-um … “

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

