Wee beasties # 56 – Spiderlings!

I found these little sweethearts clustered together, suspended from a multitude of web strands between a brick and, of all things, a Disney DVD that had been thrown into my garden by the next door neighbour’s daughter. This, I would say, is the epitome of “close” in the weekly photo challenge sense. I took many pictures as I prodded the ball of babies and watched them spread out along the webs – but they always returned quickly to the safety of the mass.

They are the offspring of the Garden or Cross spider – but if you look at the link, you will see they look nothing like the parent … so I guess the changes occur with each shedding of the skin as they grow.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Wee beasties # 56 – Spiderlings!

  1. Wow, really neat! I like all three shots, but that middle one is so striking for some reason. Maybe because the beackground is only a few different shades and so it lets them stand out even more. I also like the detail of the webs in the first shot. The last one is funny! 🙂

    • I’m with you about the middle picture. It’s my favourite of the lot too. Quite probably for the same reasons.
      As for the last one – there were a couple of this little fella making a break for it… but this is perfect position for the deer to be looking at him 🙂

  2. Even that small, tummy goes gooey just looking at them. Brain says sooo interesting, and I’m glad it was you who went so CLOSE! They are indeed fantastic to behold, as are your shots, but …

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close | Wind Against Current

  4. I love the shot of Bambi (?) staring cross-eyed at a spiderling on his nose! And the color pattern on the babies is really striking.

    I think one reason I like the second picture is that the depth of field makes it clear how three-dimensional the web is – the babies are clambering over strands at various distances from us.

    For some reason these little guys don’t squick me, at least as pictures. I’d rather look at them than at caterpillars, anyhow.

    Glad to see you back!

  5. SO cool! I like the middle one, the colors are great, and “close” is definitely the word for it.

  6. Madelaine

    Yikes!

  7. ahhh the wonders of nature. Great shots!

  8. hi’JUST LIKE GOING A ROUND ON MORNDAY ,TO SAY HI , TO SOME FRIENDS,,DOT…..

    “Do not conform yourselves to the standards of this world, but let God transform you inwardly by a complete change of your mind.” (Romans 12:2a

  9. The shots are great – the first one gets my attention because of the web detail – but now I itch!

  10. haha.. love them and I have a few of my own to post when I get back from my holiday Alice 🙂

  11. Wonderful, Alice, that middle one in particular. 🙂

  12. Love love love the spiders. What a magnificent photo!

  13. a terrific shot….I can’t really pick a favourite as they all have something special and unique about them

  14. You always manage to get some great shots! Amazing!

  15. Cool, but i don’t want to be close to that. Hii..

  16. Great shot! In my experience, they disperse quickly, so you got there at the right time to capture a photo.

  17. Great capture – we got to see this once when a garden spider laid her next in the window at the side of our front door! My husband grandson watched them with a magnifying glass from inside the house – Amazing!!

  18. Hey, I just wanted to say Thank You for Following “The Dark Globe”… It’s June Follower Appreciation Month over there, you should Check it out

    DarkJade-

  19. Pingback: Appreciation Versatile Blogger Award and Kreativ Blogger Award | Campanulla Della Anna

  20. Hi @Alice,

    There are good news for you. I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award. I hope you’re happy with this news. Because your blog gives me inspiration and new ideas. This award give us more creativity.
    You can see this nomination;

    https://campanulladellaanna.wordpress.com/2012/06/24/appreciation-versatile-blogger-award-and-kreativ-blogger-award/

    Thank you for your efforts, I appreciate it. Warm regads 😛

  21. What amazing photos! And amazing little creatures – so bright and cheerful, full of promising little bug-eating lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

