Wee beastie #58 – Wasp

OK, I’m cheating a little bit, because I said I would not repeat a bug during this challenge. However, the other time I pictured a wasp, it was in silhouette and didn’t reveal much detail.

See here for the previous post.

This one, on the other hand, was not buzzing around my bedroom window (thank goodness). It was outside, waging war on the spiders that had set up shop in a rather scruffy looking conifer in my neighbour’s garden. No, those aren’t fangs protruding from its face – I believe they are antennae. But, in my opinion, they just add to its fearsome look.

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Wee beastie #58 – Wasp

  1. An amazing photo, I’m in total awe.

  2. Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed it.

  3. Fangs or antennae, I certainly wouldn’t want to argue with anything with a face like that!

    Besides, they really are fearsome – I know by experience that they’re perfectly likely to attack you without any reason, from the human point of view! (I didn’t even know there was a wasp nearby. Until it stung me.)

    Wonderfully detailed picture 🙂

  4. This is a really wonderful shot.. Alcie.. Most excellent

  5. o this is most excellent!

  6. That is a fantastic photo. Sometimes the most alien looking creatures are right here on planet earth!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

