Oh, that old thing…

Just a little update about the infamous thrifty garden project. I have to admit I’ve become a little pompous about it, as it seems to be thriving. Things have been a bit dicey with the crazy weather we’ve been having (massive deluging thunderstorms with intermittent snippets of sunshine).  Yes, I’ve lost a few bits and bobs along the way, and I’ve had to get rather brutal with the slugs (sadly, at the peril of the snails) – but for the most part, it’s pretty darned excellent, though I say so myself.  Even the tomatoes are still hanging in there.

And as you know, I’ve been a creative with the mosaics (of which there are now more that I will share with you shortly).

But I just thought I’d show you a couple of little recycling snippets I’ve incorporated – keeping my budget still to way under £100 for the whole garden so far (and probably still less than $100 for my friends across the Pond).

Click on the pictures to see them more clearly.

First, a couple of ways to use old bed springs:

Sweet Pea trellises

and an archway over my gate, across which I will guide the clematis.

An old chimney stack makes an interesting planter

And I even threw in the kitchen sink!

Makes a nice Herb garden.

It’s getting there, I think 🙂

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Oh, that old thing…

  1. Brilliant. What clever and interesting ideas you have

  2. Very, very nice!

  3. well don you… I love the bed springs !

  4. Very creative way to re-use the old bed springs, the sink & chimney stack. Great post!

  5. Looks beautiful!

  6. Thank you. I’m looking forward to next year when it’s all a bit more established.

  7. This is so awesome! Keep us updated. I want to try some of your thrifty tips!

    • Also, my neighbor has a pedestal bathroom sink that she uses as a planter in her front yard – with a little statue of the Virgin Mary to look over the hen and chicks that are growing in there!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

