WPC – Wrong again / Wee beasties #59 – Grey striped fly

I have been remiss with the Wee Beasties series.  Quite frankly, the weather here in England has been absolutely pants, and much of the local landscape has been waterlogged. Motivation to go for my previously daily walks to the woods has waned – and the poor dog is lucky if I let her out of the back gate.

But I found enough energy to wander out today, camera in hand and took a few shots.

I came across this Grey Striped Fly (not the most imaginative title) on some water iris leaves – smashed flat by the recent floods (the leaves, not the fly). I was taken by how cooperative he was, as they are usually rather skittish. It was only later, when I reviewed the pictures, that it became clear why this one hadn’t flown away.

(Click on the images for better clarity).

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Weekly challenge

Categories: Alice's world, Bug-a-day | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “WPC – Wrong again / Wee beasties #59 – Grey striped fly

  1. It would definitely have just gone in circles 😉

  2. Oops. Isn’t there some sort of saying about flying on a wing and a prayer?

  3. Looks like a tiny new set of left wings is growing… Amazing capture!

  4. Cute fly… you really got very vivid details.
    Inspired by your macro shots, i also tried shooting close up…

    https://kap10bob.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/sunday-post-close-up/

    Please have a look and let me know how to improve.

    • I think you’ve done a grand job. I’m the last person to offer photographic advice, as my approaches have no real method to them. I often get that kind of “glow” feel to my pictures that your close ups have. I’m sure some professional will tell me this shouldn’t be there – the focus is a bit out, or the shutter speed was too quick …. but I really like the effect. It has an arty feel to it – so I think your close ups are lovely.

  5. I love you macro lens work. The photos are spectacular.
    Really good clarity. Great entries for the challenge.
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/weekly-photo-challenge-wrong/

  6. jakesprinter

    Nice shot 🙂

  7. Oh wow, one wing! That is so interesting, but not good for the fly. Great job capturing all the colors.

  8. I was thinking his legs were stuck until I finally got it. Maybe, he found safe place to crawl to. 🙂 Amazing that you got such great images because of it.

  9. that wsa terrific. Great job. By the way, what does it mean when the weather is pants? Here’s my wrong: http://wp.me/p1TywS-uo

    ~Anne

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: “Wrong” « ANNE FREEMAN IMAGES: Art of the Outdoors

  11. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge : “Wrong” – Am I chasing, the ‘wrong’ dreams? « Just another wake-up call

  12. How strange.. is it growing another do you think?

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.