Bug-a-day #17 – Bumblebee

Can’t say I thought I’d make it this far with this personal, and rather silly challenge.

Part of the reason it’s tough is because I’ve also limited myself to a “no repeat” rule – and, despite having quite a few more shots of some of the creatures I’ve already portrayed, I’m determined not to show the same animal twice. The other reason it’s tough is because the weather has still not picked up, and many of these beasties are hiding out of the rain.

But, as it so happened, I did stumble on a humble bumblebee making good use of a gap in the rain the other day. He wasn’t the typical yellow/orange striped fellow. In fact, he was almost entirely black, except for the tip of his tail, which was deep rusty brown.

I have no idea what that slaver coming out of his mouth is (nectar?) – can’t say I’ve seen them do that before – but he was obviously tucking into whatever the plant had to offer.

 

© Alice through the Macro Lens [2012]

Categories: Alice's world, Pictures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Bug-a-day #17 – Bumblebee

  1. I have to say, I’ve been quite impressed with your entomological persistence.

    I forget the name of that part of the bee’s mouthparts, but I think it’s his little slurpy-tube for sucking up nectar. Me and my technical mumbo-jumbo, right? Anyway, there are lots of kinds of bumblebees, more than you’d think.

  2. polly

    awesome macro

  3. Thank you for saying so!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

